We do not recommend deleting challenges. If you delete a challenge, it will remove all associated data with that challenge and there will be no way to recover that information. There is not a way to recover a deleted challenge.
The readers enrolled in the challenge will not be deleted, but any data associated with their reading or logging during that time would disappear.
Again, if you do decide to delete a challenge, there is no way to recover it.