We do not recommend deleting programs. If you delete a program, it will remove all associated data with that program and there will be no way to recover that information. There is not a way to recover a deleted program.
The readers enrolled in the program would not go away, but any data associated with their reading or logging during that time would disappear.
Again, if you do decide to delete a program, there is no way to recover it.